Samos, GRÈCE

Samos


Samos est une grande île de la mer Egée orientale, proche de l’Asie Mineure.

Grâce à sa situation géographique, assurant la communication maritime et le commerce avec les côtes de l’Asie Mineure, l’île a connu une croissance remarquable dès l’Antiquité.

L’île offre des grands trésors archéologiques, comme le théâtre antique et les thermes romains, le tunnel d’Eupalinos, l’un des ouvrages techniques les plus importants de l’Antiquité, et les vestiges de Pythagoreion, ancienne ville portuaire fortifiée et d’Heraion, le sanctuaire d’Hera samienne, patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. Samos est le berceau des grands philosophes de l’Antiquité, comme Pythagore, Epicure et l’astronome Aristarque.

La capitale de Samos, construite autour d’une baie magnifique, possède un musée archéologique important et des installations touristiques de grande qualité. Proche de la ville de Samos, Vathy est l’un des villages les plus anciens, tandis que Karlovasi est le centre commercial de l’île, avec un grand port et un excellent marché.

Samos est l’une des îles les plus belles et les plus vertes de Grèce, avec des forêts de pins et des oliviers qui atteignent la côte. Elle est connue pour ses belles plages aux eaux cristallines, comme Mikro et Megalo Seitani, Potami, Psili Ammos et Tsambou.

Outres les belles plages, l’île est mondialement connue pour son vin doux d’excellente qualité, le célèbre Moschato Samos.

Comment y arriver :

En bateau : entre 12 et 15 heures du port du Pirée ou de Rafina

Aéroport le plus proche : Aéroport International de Samos Aristarque

Samos, GREECE

Samos


Samos is one of the largest islands in the eastern Aegean Sea.

Due to its geographical location, which secured maritime communications and trade with the coasts of Asia Minor, the island has known significant development since Antiquity.

Samos offers great archaeological treasures, such as the Ancient Theater and the Roman Baths, the Eupalinus tunnel, one of the most important technical works of Antiquity, and, of course, the famous fortified ancient city, Pythagoreion, and the ancient Temple of Hera, Heraion, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Samos is the birthplace of some of the most important philosophers of Antiquity, Pythagoras, Epicurus and the astronomer Aristarchus.

Its capital, amphitheatrically built over a beautiful bay, has an important archaeological museum and high quality touristic development. Very close to the town of Samos, Vathy, is one of the oldest villages, which maintains its traditional architecture while Karlovasi is considered to be the commercial center of the island, with a large harbour and an excellent market.

Samos is one of the most beautiful and greenest islands of Greece, with pine forests and olive groves that reach the coast. The island is also known for its beautiful beaches, with crystal blue waters, such as Mikro and Megalo Sitani, Potami Beach, Psili Ammos and Tsambou.

Apart from the beautiful beaches, Samos is worldwide known for the excellent quality sweet wine it produces, the famous Moschato of Samos.

 

How to get there:

By boat: 12-15 hours from Piraeus and Rafina port

Nearest airport: Samos Aristarchos International Airport