Naxos, GRÈCE

Naxos


Naxos, la plus grande des îles des Cyclades, est située dans le centre des Cyclades, entre Mykonos et Paros.

Avec une longue histoire et un magnifique paysage naturel, Naxos est une destination populaire toute l’année.

La Chora, capitale et principal port de l’île, se distingue par sa vieille ville historique, construite autour du château vénitien bien préservé et par la Portara, à l’entrée du port, la grande porte en marbre qui constitue le reste d’un temple antique. Sur le continent, on peut également découvrir des beaux villages montagneux d’une architecture traditionnelle, comme Apiranthos et Koronos.

Naxos est célèbre pour ses plages magnifiques, comme celle d’Agia Anna, d’Agios Prokopios, de Mikri Vigla, de Plaka et d’Agios Georgios, la plupart situées près de Chora, tandis que le littoral occidental est idéal pour la planche à voile et le kitesurf.

Le paysage unique de l’ile et sa topographie particulière de belles montagnes et de vallées verdoyantes offrent également la possibilité de diverses activités sportives, telles que la randonnée et le vélo de montagne.

Naxos offre également un accès facile à quatre petites îles avoisinantes, appelées Petites Cyclades, Iraklia, Koufonissia, Schinoussa et Donoussa, qui offrent toutes un magnifique paysage cycladique et de superbes plages.

 

Comment y arriver :

En bateau : 5,5 à 6 heures du port du Pirée en ferry ou 3 à 4 heures en catamaran

Aéroport le plus proche : Naxos Island National Airport

Naxos, GREECE

Naxos


Naxos, the largest of the Cycladic islands, is located in the center of Cyclades, between Mykonos and Paros.

With a long history and a beautiful natural landscape, Naxos is a popular all-year destination.

The Chora, the capital and main port of the island, is distinguished for its old medieval quarter, built around the Venetian castle and the Portara, at the entrance of the port, the great marble gate that constitutes the remaining of an ancient temple. Beautiful mountainous villages with traditional architecture, such as Apiranthos, and Koronos, are located in the mainland.

Naxos is famous for its gorgeous beaches, such as those at Agia Anna, Agios Prokopios, Mikri Vigla, Plaka, and Agios Georgios, most of them near the Chora, while the western coastline is ideal for windsurfing and kitesurfing.

The island’s beautiful landscape and topography of mountains and green valleys also offer various opportunities for sports activities, such as hiking and mountain biking.

Naxos also provides easy access to four surrounding smaller islands, known as the Small Cyclades, Iraklia, Koufonissia, Schinoussa, and Donoussa, all offering a magnificent Cycladic landscape and amazing beaches.

 

How to get there:

By boat: 5.5 – 6 hours from the port of Pireaus by ferry or 3-4 hours by high speed

Nearest Airport: Naxos Island National Airport